My whole state is flooded.

12 Jan

75% of Queensland is flooded. The Brisbane river is so much wider than it was a week ago, when I last saw it.

The Brisbane river is supposed to peak at 4am tomorrow morning. The RSPCA at Fairfield has had to evacuate all of its animals. The Wivenhoe Dam was nearly 200% full, last I heard- which doesnt really make sense to me.

Pretty sure theres a walking path in front of that building, underneath all that water.

above photos from nova

I love a sunburnt country,
A land of sweeping plains,
Of ragged mountain ranges,
Of droughts and flooding rains.
I love her far horizons,
I love her jewel-sea,
Her beauty and her terror –The wide brown land for me!

-My Country by Dorothea Mckellar

1885-1968

One Response to “My whole state is flooded.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Will this become a regular thing? « Andrew & Emily - February 3, 2011

    […] a bit this year already… the awful Brisbane floods in January, which I blogged about more than once. I went into the city last Friday, and Its suprisingly good looking, but still there are hardly any […]

Leave a Reply

